Miki Suzuki
Master

Miki Suzuki


2016 Japan Barista Champion

Scanning through the history of WBC (World Barista Championship) in a decade, from the group of Japan baristas to the field of world's baristas, there is a name you will not miss, Miki Suzuki. As a three-time Japan Barista champion, Miki Suzuki can always secure her spot in top six places in world-class competitions in the following year after claiming her triumph in Japan. Her highest achievement is to win the second place in 2017 WBC and marked herself as a successful female barista.

Besides her outstanding performance, Miki Suzuki was seen as a huge inspiration to the succeeding female baristas for her remarkable records in the contests that full of male baristas. Miki Suzuki's heart-warming smile leaves the world an impression that a barista is more close to an industrial service occupation and this also fits the trending concept of customer experience orientation which leads the market these years.

Miki Suzuki’s first step of her coffee career started in a coffee shop in Yokohama city in Kanagawa, Japan. Even though she learned her knowledge of coffee in the city, Miki determined to advance her coffee skills in the country. In her words, “When stepping in the field of coffee, I did’t think too much but roughly thought that I’m going to make a living as a barista. If I want to learn the essential techniques of a barista, it would take years to complete the task. At some point, moving to the country is a way to escape from the temptations of city life and try to focus on learning.”

Maruyama Coffee in Karuizawa is the perfect place for Miki to pursue her dream. Maruyama Coffee has an esteemed reputation in the coffee industry for their knowledge and persistence in specialty coffee. When speaking of barista training, they also have a well-organized development course with strict requirements. Therefore, for those who work in Maruyama Coffee, this job not only helps them establish a good fundamental knowledge of being a professional barista, but also improves their ability by solid and systematic work experiences.

After wining the fifth place in 2010 WBC, Miki Suzuki claimed another victory by taking the fourth place in 2011 WBC. Behind all glorious achievements, Miki humbly went back to her daily work as a barista and also participated in training following baristas. And this is the reason why Hidenori Izaki, another famous barista from Maruyama Coffee who was inspired and learnt a lot from Miki Suzuki, won the 2014 WBC.

Although she kept saying she is a lucky person, from our understanding, Miki Suzuki is very diligent and hard-working. Her determination and persistence in coffee, plus the distinguish tasting ability, all of these features make Miki Suzuki become who she is today and unique compared to her peers, and eventually, she’s a shining star in world of coffee.

Our barista was fortunate to witness the moment when Miki Suzuki took the second place in 2017 WBC. She said she was happy to join the WBC stage again and she was very satisfied with her presentation. What’s different this time compared to her two previous experience of entering final was that she hoped to share her feeling and introduce her coffee to the world. She enjoyed the process of presenting the world what she can bring, and this is exactly the same thing she does in Maruyama Coffee.We are delighted to work with Miki Suzuki and provide you the coffee from her selection.

Related Products

Marysabel Carabelle
Daily Mediun Roast
Miki Suzuki
Marysabel Carabelle
Orange, Raspberry, Honey, Syrup taste
Washed Honduras, Chinacla
$50/Bags x 10 $60
Sweetness
Bitter
Acidity
Emilo Lopez
Premium Light Roast
Miki Suzuki
Emilo Lopez
Raspberry, Blackberry, Toffee, Apple
Natural El Salvador, Chalchuapa, Santa Ana (Cordillera de Apaneca–Ilamatepec)
$100/Bags x 10 $150
Sweetness
Bitter
Acidity

鈴木 樹
Master

鈴木 樹

2010,11,16 Japan Barista Champion
2nd of 2017 World Barista Championship

翻開近十年的世界咖啡師大賽的歷史,從日本咖啡師到世界咖啡師的圈圈,都不能忽略鈴木樹(Miki Suzuki)這個名字,因為他是三屆日本咖啡師冠軍,隨後都能在翌年的世界賽上躋身前六名,最高榮譽是在2017年的世界咖啡師大賽WBC奪下世界第二的成功女性咖啡師。

除了成績斐然,從清一色男性咖啡師的競賽中嶄露頭角,她對於後進的女性咖啡師也是一大鼓勵。在陽剛的咖啡師產業中,鈴木樹清新的笑容,留給咖啡競賽中咖啡師更趨近於產業服務的形象,也是帶領這幾年以顧客體驗為導向的濫觴。

鈴木樹接觸咖啡產業是從神奈川縣橫濱市的咖啡店開始的。雖然如此,她卻立定了前往鄉間修習咖啡技藝的志向。據她說,「起初踏入咖啡這個行業,我只是很模糊地知道,自己要以此謀生。如果我想真正學習咖啡師的工作,需要花費好幾年的時間。在某種程度上,搬到鄉下是一個擺脫城市生活誘惑、潛心鑽研的好辦法。」(註)

而在丸山咖啡的所在地輕井澤,就是一個這樣的地點。當然,丸山咖啡對於精品咖啡的研究與堅持也是在業界享有盛名的權威;他們對於咖啡師的養成以及訓練也有長期以及非常嚴格的要求.也由於這樣,對於丸山咖啡本店的同仁來說,對咖啡師職涯的前途有所發展,而扎實有系統的工作經驗也能帶來長足的進步。

鈴木樹取得了2010年世界咖啡師大賽第五名之後,她再度的在2011年拿下了世界咖啡師大賽的第四名,在這麼風光的榮耀後面,她只是非常謙虛的做回他日常的咖啡師工作,同時也協助後進的咖啡師訓練。這也是後來2014年丸山咖啡的陣容中另外一位知名咖啡師井崎英典能夠得到啟發,快速累積經驗,進而奪下世界咖啡師大賽冠軍的原因。

雖然她一向說她自己是非常幸運的人,但是就我們的了解,他其實非常的認真,也非常的具有堅持的決心,對於咖啡的靈感以及味覺的能力,她也一直都有獨到的見解,這也導致了他的進步,最後讓他在世界舞台上發光發熱。

當然我們的咖啡師也很有幸的參與了鈴木樹最終奪下2017年亞軍的時刻。她說她除了很高興能夠再次站上世界賽的舞台,也非常滿意他自己準備的競賽內容;而最特別不同於過去兩次進入決賽的經驗則是她特別想要分享她的體驗與咖啡風味給大家,而她也非常享受整個呈現的過程,這就跟她在咖啡店所做的事情一樣!

而我們也很高興能夠與她合作,為大家帶來她所選擇的咖啡。

註:該引述說法原文出處為:https://kknews.c